Updates in the BDVA management team

The Big Data Value Association celebrated its General Assembly last November 30th in Valencia, Spain. Among other important topics, the BDVA members were called to elect and renew over two thirds of the members of its Board of Directors, and to elect President, one Vice President and Treasurer (two-year mandate). 

We are pleased to officially communicate the composition of the new Board of Directors of BDVA, and the new leadership team as follows:

  • Laure Le Bars, Research project director at SAP (President)
  • Edward Curry, Academic and Lecturer at Insight (Vice-President)
  • Milan Petkovic, Department Head Data Science at Philips (Vice-President)
  • Thomas Hahn, Chief Expert Software at Siemens (Vice-President)
  • Tonny Velin, CEO of Answare, (Treasurer)

(Rest of directors listed In alphabetical order according to the organisation they belong to)

  • Antonis Ramfos, Innovation & Business Development Director at ATC
  • Alicia Garcia Medina, Head of ATOS Research & Innovation
  • Davide Dalle Carbonare, Senior Researcher at Engineering
  • Sören Auer, Professor and head of department at Fraunhofer IAIS
  • David Bernstein, Program Manager for EU and CEE Collaboration at IBM
  • Dirk Hamelinck, Director Strategy & Innovation at imec
  • Jesus Angel García Sanchez, Head of R&D at INDRA
  • Nozha Boujemaa, Director of Research, Advisor to the CEO of INRIA in Big Data
  • Jim Kenneally, Principle investigator at Intel Labs
  • Colin Upstill, Managing Director of the IT Innovation Centre
  • Daniel Saez Domingo, Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Director at ITI
  • Stefanie Lindstaedt, CEO of Know-Center GmbH
  • Robert Seidl, Research Manager at Nokia
  • Valère Robin, Strategist on Architecture, Security and Enablers at Orange
  • Bjørn Skjellaug, Research Director and Head of Department at SINTEF
  • Harald Schöning, Vice President Research at Software AG
  • Maurizio Cecchi, Manager at Telecom Italia
  • Florin Serban, Managing Director at Terrasigna
  • Philippe Mouttou, Advanced Studies International Director at Thales
  • Andrejs Vasiljevs, CEO of Tilde
  • Henk Jan Vink, Director Networked Information at TNO
  • Ernestina Menasalvas, Professor at UPM
  • Dieter Boen, Director of Research and Innovation at VRT
  • Caj Södergård, Team leader at VTT Data-Driven Solutions

With 14 members of the BoD representing large industry, 4 representing SMEs, and 11 representing Research and Academia, BDVA maintains a strong industry-led management team.